IMF Dvořák Prague Festival - 2021

Veronika Jarůšková, Peter Jarůšek, Boris Giltburg

The best seats for every event


All events



5:00 PM

Anežský klášter

Praha 1

590 - 690 CZK



The second movement of the Piano Trio in E-flat Major by Franz Schubert will probably get increased attention from film buffs, who will recall it from Stanley Kubrick’s historical fresco Barry Lyndon or its use in Michael Haneke’s intimate drama La Pianiste, based on the novel by the Nobel Prize laureate Elfriede Jelinek. One of Schubert’s last works, the trio is something much more than an opportunity for cinematic nostalgia: it is a grandiose musical gesture that fortified music on its path from Beethoven to true Romanticism. We will hear the genre in both its joyous and its reflective aspects in the first and second of Antonín Dvořák’s piano trios. The two compositions contrast rather markedly, despite both having been written within the space of a single year. The Piano Trio No. 1 in B-flat Major is combative in mood, ultimately soaring in ecstasy in the finale. In the Piano Trio No. 2 in G Minor we find a pensive Dvořák, perhaps still grieving over the death of his daughter.  

For the performances of all three compositions at St Agnes’s Convent, the curator of the Chamber Series, the outstanding pianist Boris Giltburg, is joining with members of the Pavel Haas Quartet, violinist Veronika Jarůšková and cellist Peter Jarůšek. They will play all of Dvořák’s piano trios during the festival, realising the plans for Dvořák Collection series programmes launched at last year’s festival, that is to present all of Dvořák’s chamber music with piano.



Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 21, B. 51

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 2 in G minor, Op. 26, B. 56

Franz Schubert
Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 100




PETER JARŮŠEK violoncello


Length 125 minutes
Wheelchair access
Antonín Dvořák
Franz Schubert

Performance teaser