National Theatre

Národní divadlo, Národní 2, Praha 1

The National Theater is a representative scene of the Czech Republic. It is one of the symbols of national identity and a part of European cultural space. It is the bearer of the national cultural heritage and also a space for free artistic creation. It is a living artistic organization that understands tradition as a task for an ever-new solution and as an effort for the highest artistic quality.


Today's form of the National Theater consists of four artistic ensembles - Opera, Drama, Ballet and Laterna magika - and under the artistic management of the theater there are four scenes - the National Theater, the Karlín Musical Theater (during the reconstruction of the State Opera), the Estates Theater and the New Stage. The Opera, Drama and Ballet ensembles select their repertoire not only from the rich classical legacy, but besides domestic authors, they also focus on modern world art. The repertoire of the New Scene consists mainly of Laterna magika and Dragons, partly also Opera and Ballet and a number of original projects.


Manon Lescaut Maryša
Frailty, Thy Name is Woman New Century